A Circle of Stars

When we were between lockdowns last year I managed to get out to Hometown, the lovely quilt store in Rochester, Kent. I knew I wanted fabric for this project which I had already drawn out and worked out how much fabric I needed, this always makes the shopping easier as you know exactly what you need. I also knew I wanted turquoise and gold with a cream background. Thankfully Hometown had just what I needed, two lovely colours of Moda Grunge in the turquoise, I was happy! There’s also a number of creams in different fabrics to make up the background.

I love the use of all straight line piecing which gives the illusion on a circle of stars in the centre piece. This is also highlighted with the quilting in that area. I finished with two small borders and then piano keys in two different cream tones. The quilting is both straight line with the walking foot and free motion on the piano keys.

Circle of Stars Quilt – by Kate Higgens

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Marion Haslam
    Mar 14, 2022 @ 16:37:01

    Dear Kate

    As always, playing catch up on emails – this is a lovely quilt. I love turquoise and golden yellow as a combination and really like the feeling of curves that this pattern creates.

    Just to update you on FMQ dates.

    I’m running with Wed 6 April and Tues 26 April (both published online) to start with. 4 booked on 6/4 and 5 on 26/4 so far. If you can promote on social media, that would be great. I have emailed all those who were interested. I’ll be doing an IG/FB post this week. Several students have come back saying they’re interested in a Sat date, so perhaps if we can do that next, that’d be good.

    Bookings are not flooding in – but we’re also quiet in the shop – I think everyone is just slightly shell shocked by the war in Ukraine, it’s crushed any evidence of post COVID bounce back that I was getting at the end of Feb. But we carry on…

    Thanks
    Marion

    HOMETOWN
    62 High Street, Rochester, Kent ME1 1JY
    T 01634 838880

    http://www.hometownrochester.co.uk
    Open again! Tues/Wed/Fri/Sat 10.00-5.00, Farmers’ Market Sundays 11.00-3.00. Online 24/7. Plus, follow us on Instagram and Facebook for daily inspiration.

    ________________________________

    Reply

Leave a comment